Stone and Sturm named to National Academy of Inventors

Friday, Dec 6, 2019
by tdwyer

Stone and Sturm named to National Academy of Inventors

Office of Engineering Communications Dec. 6, 2019 1:59 p.m.

The National Academy of Inventors has named Princeton engineering professors Howard Stone and James Sturm among 168 fellows for 2019.

Stone is the chair of the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and the Donald R. Dixon ’69 and Elizabeth W. Dixon Professor in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering. Exploring fundamental questions of fluid motion, his research combines simulation, modeling, theory and experimentation to examine questions involving engineering, biology and physics. His work has been applied to a wide range of systems including microfluidic devices and technologies, bubbles and droplets, blood cells, biofilms, foams, and physicochemical hydrodynamics. Stone is the recipient of the Princeton University President’s Award for Distinguished Teaching and other teaching awards. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the National Academy of Sciences.

Click here for full story.