News & Awards

  • James Stone named 2013 Fellow of American Physical Society

    James M. Stone was recently named a 2013 Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS), one of the world's top organizations of physicists. He will be honored during the 2014 APS annual meeting. Professor Stone was named for his leading role in the development of tools for computational magnetohydrodynamics and in advancing our understanding of the physics of accretion disks, the dynamics of disk driven winds, and the dynamics of molecular clouds.

    Friday, 20 December 2013 - 12:45pm
  • PACM Faculty awarded DOE INCITE Awards 2014

    Three PACM faculty were recently awarded 2014 INCITE Awards by the U.S. Department of Energy.  Professor Emily A. Carter's project "Ab Initio Simulations of Carrier Transports in Organic and Inorganic Nanosystems" for the Materials Science discipline; Professor William Tang's project "Kinetic Simulations of Fusion Energy Dynamics at Extreme Scale" for the Plasma Physics discipline, and Professor Jeroen Tromp's project "Global Seismic Tomography Based on Spectral-Element and Adjoint Methods" for the Geological Science discipline. 

    Monday, 25 November 2013 - 4:30pm
  • Emily A. Carter gives Mathematics of Planet Earth 2013 Simons Public Lecture

    On November 4, 2013, Professor Emily A. Carter gave the invited Mathematics of Planet Earch (MPE) 2013 Simons Public Lecture at the Institute for Pure and Applied Mathematics in Los Angeles, California.  Her talk was titled, "Quantum Mechanics and the Future of the Planet". To read more about Professor Carter's lecture and the lecture series please go to:



    Tuesday, 5 November 2013 - 5:15pm
  • Robert Vanderbei named Fellow of the American Mathematical Society

    Robert Vanderbei, an associate faculty member of PACM from Operations Research and Financial Engineering, has been named a 2014 Fellow of the American Mathematical Society (AMS) in recognition of his contributions to linear programming and nonlinear optimization problems. The AMS recognizes members who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication and utilization of mathematics.

    Monday, 4 November 2013 - 1:15pm
  • Professor Emily Carter awarded Sigillo D'Oro from Italian Chemistry Society

    On September 27, 2013, the Italian Chemistry Society awarded Professor Emily Carter with the Sigillo D'Oro (Golden Sigillum) at the Avogadro Colloquium (hosted by the Scuola Normale Superiore) in Pisa, Italy.  The Sigillo D'Oro of the Società Chimica Italiana (Italian Chemistry Society, SCI from now on) was created in 2005 to reward individuals who have distinguished themselves at the international level in the field of Chemistry, both in scientific and organizational/dissemination areas. 

    Wednesday, 16 October 2013 - 12:30pm
  • Afonso Bandeira wins INFORMS Optimization Society student paper prize

    Afonso Bandeira (Princeton University, formerly University of Coimbra) is selected as the winner of the 2013 INFORMS Optimization Society Student Paper Prize for his paper "Computation of Sparse Low Degree Interpolating Polynomials and their Application to Derivative-Free Optimization." Click here to learn more. Congratulations Afonso! 

    Tuesday, 8 October 2013 - 1:45pm
  • Paul Seymour Awarded Honorary Doctorate

    Prof. Paul Seymour was awarded an honorary doctorate from the Technical University of Denmark on May 3, 2013 for his contribution to mathematics at the highest level.

  • Certificate Student Named Goldwater Scholar

    PACM certificate student Aman Sinha has been named a Goldwater Scholar. This scholarship is the premier award for outstanding undergraduates interested in careers in mathematics, the natural sciences and engineering. One- and two-year Goldwater Scholarships cover tuition, fees, room and board up to a maximum of $7,500 per year. The Princeton recipients are among 282 scholarship winners selected from a field of 1,123 students nationwide.

  • Mung Chiang wins Alan T. Waterman Award

    Congratulations to Mung Chiang, who has been awarded the National Science Foundation's highest honor for young researchers, the Alan T. Waterman Award. The Waterman Award is granted annually to an outstanding young researcher in science or engineering fields supported by the foundation. The award, open to researchers aged 35 and younger, provides a $1 million grant to support further research.